LibGuides: Language Department: Chinese

Chinese/English Dictionaries

Far East New Collegiate English-Chinese Dictionary by Lin, Lien-hsiang & Chen, Shaopeng.
Call Number: REF 495.1 F21 2003
ISBN: 9789579634359
Publication Date: 2003
ABC Chinese-English Comprehensive Dictionary by John DeFrancis (Editor)
Call Number: REF 495.1 A13 2003
ISBN: 082482766X
Publication Date: 2003

Quick Call Numbers

Here are the general locations of books in our library about Chinese language and history. For specific sources or for books about culture (including art and film), use the library catalog.

495.1's - Chinese grammar, language, and written characters

895.1's - Chinese literature

951's - History of China

915.1's - Geography and travel in China

Newspapers & News (Online)

China News Services
From Beijing & Hong Kong
China Times
From Taiwan
Lian He Zao Bao
A daily newspaper from Singapore
Ming Pao Daily News
From Hong Kong
Ren Min Ri Bao
Official newspaper of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China
RTHK
RealAudio broadcasts in Cantonese from Radio Television Hong Kong
World Journal
Daily newspaper published in North America

Databases

ABC-CLIO Social Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database is useful for social and cultural information on the language you are studying.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica combines all of the information found in the print version of this encyclopedia with added search features and online versions of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary archive of important scholarly journals, primary documents and books. JSTOR does not provide access to current issues of journals; rather, because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is an embargo, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Films

Academic eBooks

Academic & History eBooks
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

If you are looking to read a book in the Database in a specific language, after logging in to the EBSCOhost databases, select the Academic Collection. Then:

To browse the books in a particular language, select Study Guides & Language Learning from the categories displayed to the left. Select Languages, and then Select your language.
To find a particular title, author, or subject, select Advanced Search below the search box and under Language, select the language you desire.