LibGuides: Language Department: French

French/English Dictionaries

Cambridge Online French-English Dictionary

Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by Oxford
Call Number: REF 443.21 O98 2007
ISBN: 9780198614227
Publication Date: 2007

Quick Call Numbers

Here are the general locations of books in our library about French language and history. For specific sources or for books about culture (including art and film), use the library catalog.

440's - French grammar and language

840's - French literature (including Caribbean, African, and other literatures in French)

944's - History of France

914.4's - Geography and travel in France

Databases

ABC-CLIO Social Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This database is useful for social and cultural information on the language you are studying.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica combines all of the information found in the print version of this encyclopedia with added search features and online versions of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary archive of important scholarly journals, primary documents and books. JSTOR does not provide access to current issues of journals; rather, because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is an embargo, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Magazines (Online)

The French-language magazine sites listed (alphabetically) here are a sample of material available on the Web free of charge.

Elle
Online version of this well-known monthly magazine
Espaces
An outdoor travel magazine from Québec, Canada
France Amérique
The best of French culture
La Revue du spectacle
French theatre, humor, & song
Le Réseau des Sports
A Canadian sports magazine
PHOTO
Monthly photo magazine
Voir.ca!
Two editions of a Canadian magazine, from Montréal and Québec

Newspapers (Online)

The French-language newspaper sites listed (alphabetically) here are a sample of material available on the Web free of charge.

Charlie Hebdo
Satirical newspaper from France
La Presse
From Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Le Figaro
From Paris, France
Le Journal du Jura
From Switzerland
Le Monde
Limited access to a well-known French newspaper
Salut Bonjour
News from Montréal, Canada

Films

Academic eBooks

Academic & History eBooks
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.

If you are looking to read a book in the Database in a specific language, after logging in to the EBSCOhost databases, select the Academic Collection. Then:

To browse the books in a particular language, select Study Guides & Language Learning from the categories displayed to the left. Select Languages, and then Select your language.
To find a particular title, author, or subject, select Advanced Search below the search box and under Language, select the language you desire.