LibGuides: American Studies Guide: Databases

Why Databases?

ABC-CLIO Social Studies Database This link opens in a new window
This history resource consists of eight parts which includes American Government, American History, Issues, United States at War, World History: Ancient, World History: Modern, Daily Life through History, and Modern Genocide. This database can be useful for gathering both primary and secondary information about historical topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary archive of important scholarly journals, primary documents and books. JSTOR does not provide access to current issues of journals; rather, because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is an embargo, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica combines all of the information found in the print version of this encyclopedia with added search features and online versions of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the definitive historical record of the evolution of the English Language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history and pronunciation of over half a million words across the English speaking world.

American History This link opens in a new window
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of history in the United States.

Lenfest Library Catalog:

By Subject: United States -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 -- Sources
[Your colony] + filtered by “[your colony] Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775”
Advanced search: [your colony/state] and tags: "primary source"

Databases:

Annals of American History:

Try looking through the time periods 1493-1754 and 1755-1783
If you are looking for information AFTER the War for Independence, look in the dates AFTER
Browse by topic (ex. National Character)

JSTOR (Always use advanced search!):