LibGuides: Research Science: Science Specific Resources

Chemistry Blogs

Blogs can be a great way to find current research and information about a subject. The key is to follow the links to find the actual studies and reports.

Use the search boxes and "Blog Roll" features to find relevant information.

In the Pipeline
An exemplar of chemistry blogs.
Labsolutely
Videos are also being used in blog posts. Here is one that is especially nice. Go to the home of Labsolutely.org to see animation of American Dad's Chemistry class.
The Open Flask
A blog written by chemists offers insight into the current workings in the field.
Chemistry Views
A general chemistry website to keep up with the latest chemistry news.

Databases

HealthSource: Academic Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a database that provides full-text access to more than 500 scholarly journals in nursing and health sciences. It includes research on areas such as pediatric and critical care nursing, mental health, nursing ethics, and environmental health, and is especially useful for students looking for reliable, academic sources on medical and health-related topics.
ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect is an online platform for scholarly research in science, technology, and medicine. It provides full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals and books across subjects like biology, chemistry, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences.

Websites to Get Started

Google Scholar

JSTOR

JSTOR is a research database that gives access to scholarly journal articles, books, and primary sources in subjects like history, literature, science, and the arts. It focuses on older issues of academic journals, not the most recent ones, making it a good source for in-depth background research and historical perspectives.
Science.gov

Science.gov is a free search tool that helps you find science and technology information from U.S. government agencies. It searches trusted databases and websites to provide access to research on topics like health, the environment, and space.

ScienceOpen
ScienceOpen is a freely accessible discovery platform for scholarly research across all disciplines. It includes millions of open access and indexed articles, books, and other research outputs, with advanced tools to search, filter, and explore by citation networks, keywords, and altmetrics. The platform also supports post-publication peer review, public recommendations, and researcher-curated collections, making it a useful tool for finding, evaluating, and engaging with academic work.
Science Research
Science Research searches over 300 databases in real time. This helps you to avoid outdated articles and spam. Also, many science databases are not indexed by Google. This search can search those as well.

After you search a topic, use the menus on the left to drill down to the most pertinent/useful information.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central (PMC) is a free online collection of full-text articles from biomedical and life sciences journals. Maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health, it offers reliable, peer-reviewed research on topics like medicine, biology, and public health. It's a valuable resource for students exploring science and health-related subjects.

ResearchRabbit
ResearchRabbit is a free, AI-powered literature discovery and mapping tool that helps researchers, students, and scholars explore academic literature visually—think of it as a “Spotify for papers.” Users begin with one or more seed publications and the platform generates related works through citation trails, co-citation networks, and topic similarity. Interactive graphs (network and timeline views) reveal earlier, later, and thematically similar papers, and users can track authors, receive personalized alerts for new publications, collaborate on collections, and export references
Science Journal
Science is a prestigious, multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published weekly by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), featuring original research, reviews, news, and policy commentary across all scientific disciplines. First launched in 1880, it remains one of the most cited and selective venues in scholarly publishing, with an impact factor of 45.8 (2024) and an acceptance rate under 7%

While the full text is typically available only to subscribers or via institutional access, research articles become freely accessible after a one-year embargo and some public health articles are immediately open access.

Finding Articles in Science

Researching in the Sciences can be a bit different than research you've done in other classes. Most scientific research you use should be recent (within 5 years). Here are a few tips to help you find worthwhile things:

Use the Internet-- You may be able to find recent research and new discoveries on the World Wide Web. Read web pages carefully for original research.
Always read carefully -- As you read reports, blogs, articles, etc... Look for words that will point you in the right direction for other research (i.e. "An article in Science states..." -- Go and find that article!
Bibliographic Mining -- Look at the bibliographies of the materials you already have. This is a great place to find additional resources that will be helpful to your paper. Looking at the citation information of the bibliography, you can usually determine from where that source originates.